BZA WIZO Rebecca Sieff Awards

60 year award recipients: Back: Rene Kleinman and Sylvia (Lovey) Elyan. Front: Rosette Weber, Mary Atlas and Ada Scher.

Bnoth Zion Association WIZO honoured its Rebecca Sieff Award recipients at World WIZO Day, at the glorious Gardens Shul, home of the Cape Town Hebrew Congregation, on Tuesday 2 December.

Rabbi Osher Feldman delivered the dvar Torah, Ivor Joffe and talented pupils of the Herzlia Highlands Primary School together with Cantor Ian Camissar entertained the guests, with Mendel and Jill Kaplan guests of honour.

Mendel Kaplan‘s passionately delivered address enthralled the audience as he recounted his own and his family’s personal and long-time involvement with BZA WIZO and his fervour for the State of Israel.

Amongst the recipients of the 40 year service Rebecca Sieff awards was Annette Milliner — a former chairman of BZA WIZO, and in the audience was Ann Susman, a niece of the late Rebecca Sieff.

Representatives of many of Cape Town’s communal organisations, as well as honorary life chairman Myra Osrin and honorary life vice-chairmen Barbara Sandler and Eta Scher were present, but the day’s accolades went to the women who have served the organisation for 40, 50 and even 60 years!

An excellent morning — Irene Gootkin’s enthusiastic and energetic convening ensured that it went smoothly and the commitment, loyalty and depth of dedication of the recipients was acknowledged and honoured.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here